Posted by: Scott | December 17, 2009

Beer & Christmas Dinner

I’d planned to review Dogfish Head’s Chicory Stout today, seeing as I somehow forgot to sample it during my search for the best winter beers. Then, yesterday at lunch, a tiny exploding star disguised as tomato basil soup sent my taste buds to the burn ward. Rather than lie about my inability to taste the Chicory Stout, I decided to move up this pairing guide (as opposed to my posted-the-day-before Thanksgiving guide) so that you’ll actually have time to go out and buy the beer before the dinner. Obviously I’m running a bit late, so this time it’s a quick list of courses matched up with one beer style. I’ll also name a few specific beers per style. Most of these will range between $1 and $5 dollars per bottle, and a few, such as Hennepin, come in 750 ml bottles. Quite a value. Enjoy!

Appetizer
Salad/Fruit: Witbier
Hoegaarden Original White Ale, St. Bernardus Wit

Squash Soup: Brown Ale
Dogfish Head Indian Brown Ale, Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar

Shrimp/Fish: Saison
Ommegang Hennepin

Main Course
Ham: Extra Special Bitter
Fuller’s ESB, Rogue Brutal Bitter

Turkey: Something different … perhaps an IPA?
Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA, AleSmith IPA

Roast Beef: Porter
Deschutes Black Butte Porter, Anchor Porter

Dessert
Chocolate: Doppelbock
Ayinger Celebrator, Weihenstephaner Korbinian

Pumpkin Pie: Sweet Stout
Young’s Double Chocolate Stout, Ska Brewing Steel Toe Stout

Yule Log:  Um …

Jello: We’re done here.

Happy beer hunting! … I mean, uh, holidays. Feel free to reread my Thanksgiving guide for more pairing ideas.

Next Monday: The patron saint of brewers!

Responses

  1. I’m planning to serve Black Berry Cobbler for my weekly domino get to gether – do you have recommendation?

    • My first thought was a blackberry-flavored beer such as the Sam Adams Blacberry Witbier, but (as with pumpkin ales and pumpkin pie) the two might drown each other out. I think a rich, chocolaty stout like Rogue’s Chocolate Stout would probably pair well. If you’re looking for something lighter, I’d go with a wheat beer like Weihenstephaner Hefeweissbier or Sierra Nevada Kellerweis Hefeweizen, or maybe even one of the witbiers I suggested in the article. Their crisp, fruity flavors should accent the tart blackberries nicely. Plus, those beers are fairly inexpensive (roughly $1-$2 a bottle or $7-$10 a six-pack, I think) and easy to find. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. fuller esb is right for any occasion. just in case anyone was wondering.

    • You speak the truth.


Leave a Reply

Categories

