Posted by: Scott | October 20, 2009

Exploring the World of Beer

Scott!My name’s James Scott Miller, but please, call me Scott. I love beer, and I love to write. That’s probably all you need to know for now, but I’m going to ramble on a bit anyway.

My earliest beer encounters, which involved fizzy, pale liquids of questionable freshness, left me dispirited and even angry. How had this mix of club soda and diluted lemon juice gained such popularity? Which of Satan’s henchmen was to blame?

But years later (now years ago), a good beer somehow wandered into my mouth and, for several dazzling seconds, sloshed itself around on my tongue. Flavors erupted as a veil lifted from the stars, and I could see galaxies.

Since then, my mouth and brain have been chugging information about beer, whether by browsing online brew boards or by taking beers for test drives (not literally, mind you!). Now my beer knowledge could fill a brewpub.

My friends and family seem to appreciate this information (emphasis on “seem”—they could be humoring me), and I know they enjoy my fridge full of high-quality beers, so I’ve decided to take my show on the e-road to educate a larger audience. You can expect reviews of exotic beers, musings about beer’s place in modern culture, and plenty of exciting facts about beer and the brewing process.

And to wrap things up, it’s catch-phrase time:

Read. Pour. Explore.

Responses

  1. You look like a child molester, but I’d still drink with you.

    • Haha, time for a new picture.

      But thanks for the otherwise kind comments, both of you!

      edit: Better?

  2. Loved your blog. Count me a regular. It was so good, think I’m gonna start drinkin’ beer! I’ll be depending on your recommendations for a while. Thanks Scott!

  3. I am currently sipping on a fizzy, pale, liquid of questionable freshness & on top of that it says Miller on the can-any relation?

    I am looking forward to becoming an informed and educated connoisseur-keep up the good work!

    • I plead the Fifth on the name relation. And perhaps I was a bit harsh on the fizzy pale liquids … they certainly have their place, and I won’t turn one down if offered! I’m a beer nerd, not a snob.

      That said, future articles will discuss techniques for buying good beer on a budget, which will hopefully help out fans of those liquids 🙂

  4. yeah . . . that’s it. As in ‘just humor him . . it’s safer’ ‘keep him calm . .’
    seriously, tho, I can’t believe how much I’ve learned in the last couple of years (about beer, I mean. no wise cracks) and how much my tastes have changed. Believe it or not I used to pop a lime wedge in a Corona lite and *shudder* enjoy it! Thanks for the
    (br)e(w)ducation.

  5. I enjoyed your article. As always, I look forward to your ramblings! 🙂

    • Good to know! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

